Latest posts
Home / Nigeria News / How 56 top Nigerians looted N243bn -EFCC

How 56 top Nigerians looted N243bn -EFCC

Fifty six top Nigerians looted about N243 billion from the nation’s treasury, says the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission EFCC

The names, some of which the EFCC Chairman, Mrs. Farida Waziri, referred to as politically revered people in the international community, were  contained in a list handed over to the leadership of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), as the EFCC and NLC commenced their strategic partnership to intensify the fight against corruption in the country.The list contained names of well-known politicians, former governors, ministers, permanent secretaries, civil servants, chairmen and members of parastatal agencies, local government chairmen, members of the House of Representatives and senators.

The EFCC boss had, on Tuesday, visited the Labour House, Abuja, where she briefed the NLC leadership led by its president, Comrade Abdulwaheed Omar, and revealed that a strategic meeting would soon be held with NLC to formally signal the beginning of their new partnership.

Lending credence to the statement by Mrs. Waziri, during the meeting, that some
Nigerians were stealing in billions, the money stolen ranged from N10 million to N100 billion.

According to the list, only eight of the suspects allegedly stole in millions; 17 of them were alleged, by the EFCC, to have stolen in billions, while the amounts allegedly stolen by others were not specified.

Tagged “ongoing high profile cases” by the commission, all the listed cases  are already in court in the different parts of the country. While 11 were instituted and handed over by the former EFCC chairman, Mallam Nuhu Ribadu, the present chairman, Mrs. Wazri,  commenced 22 of the cases.

The 56 alleged looters were taken to court under 33 high-profile cases and 33 of them have been granted bail by the court under various circumstances, while 19 were remanded in prison custody.

Two of them have been convicted; charges have been filed against one but the suspect has refused to put in appearance in court, while court judgment is currently under review in one of the cases.

Among the high-profile cases in which the suspects have been granted bail
are: former governors of Jigawa State, Saminu Turaki, N36 billion; Joshua Dariye (Plateau) amount not stated; Orji Uzor Kalu (Abia), N5billion; Rasheed Ladoja (Oyo), N6 billion; Jolly Nyame (Taraba), N180 million; Chimaroke Nnamani (Enugu), N5.3 billion; Boni Haruna
(Adamawa), N93 million and Michael Botmang, (acting governor, Plateau)N1. 5 billion.

TheEFCC also listed the cases involving a Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)
chieftain, Chief Bode George, N100 billion; an Indian businessman,Patrick Fernandez, N32 billion; former Managing Director of FAAN,Roland Iyayi, N5.6 billion; former Minister of Aviation, ProfessorBabalola Borishade, N5.6 billion; an Austrian businessman, Eider
George, N5.6 billion; and Kenny Martins of Police Equipment Fund (PEF),N7.7 billion.

Alsoon the list are: Tom Isegholi, Mohammed Buba, and Mike Okoli for the
Transcorp Plc., N15 billion; Senator Nicholas Ugbane and nine other members of the House of Representatives, N5.2 billion; Iyabo Obasanjo,  N10 million; serving Chief of Staff to Rivers State Governor, Nyeson  Wike, N4.7 billion; former Aviation Minister Femi-Fani-Kayode, N250million; four senior Zenith Bank managers, N3.6 billion; Molkat
Mutfwang and three others, N636 million; Dr. Ransome Owan and sixothers, N1.5 billion; a retired Permanent Secretary, Dr. Albert Ikomi,N43 million, and chairman, Taraba State Civil Service Commission, Dr.Yuguda Manu, N17.5 million.


1. Bode George N100 billion

2. Saminu Turaki N36 billion

3. Patrick Fernandez N32 billion

4. Tom Isegholi, Mohammed Buba

and Mike Okoli (for
The Transcorp Plc) N15 billion

5. Kenny Martins N7.7 billion

6. Rasheed Ladoja N6 billion

7. Roland Iyayi N5.6 billion

8. Babalola Borishade N5.6 billion

9. Eider George N5.6 billion

10. Chimaroke Nnamani N5.3 billion

11. Senator Nicholas Ugbane and
nine other members of the House

of Representatives N5.2 billion

12. Orji Uzor Kalu N5 billion

13. Nyeson Wike N4.7 billion

14. 4 senior Zenith Bank Managers N3.6 billion

15. Michael Botmang N1.5 billion

16. Ransome Owan and 6 others N1.5 billion

17. Molkat Mutfwang and 3 others N636 million

18. Femi-Fani-Kayode N250 million

19. Jolly Nyame N180 million

20. Boni Haruna N93 million

21. Dr. Albert Ikomi N43 million

22. Dr. Yuguda Manu N17.5 million

23. Iyabo Obasanjo N10 million

24. Joshua Dariye (amount not stated)