Latest posts
Home / Nigeria News / Nigeria News: Osun state govt. approves Oduduwa state

Nigeria News: Osun state govt. approves Oduduwa state

Thirteen local Governments in Osun State have secured the support of the Osun state Government for the creation of an oduduwa out of the  present Osun state.

Punch newspapers reports that the  13 local government councils include Irewole, Ayedaade

, Isokan, Ife-North, Ife-South, Ife-East, Ife-Central and Atakumosa-West.

Others are Atakumosa-East, Ilesa-East, Ilesa-West, Oriade, Obokun and Ife-East Area Office.

Chairman of the Oduduwa  state creation steering committee, Oba Oladele Olashore explained that the Ooni of Ife,and the state governor had expressed their support for the project, stressing that Igbajo, an agrarian Ijesa community had also expressed the desire to be part of the proposed state.

The monarch said responses was responsible for the clamour.

He said, “This proposal was presented to the state government and the governor has given his nod for the approval. He (Oyinlola) already presented the request to the state House of Assembly, where it is currently undergoing the legislative process of approval.”

Olashore said the Ooni has crowned the Oba of Oyotunji, a Yoruba community in South Carolina, USA, stressing that the name Oduduwa was historicall